Skip to content

DJ R-Tistic’s ‘The Timeline’: 500 West Coast Songs from 1981-2012

May 16, 2013

Los Angeles local DJ R-Tistic put together a 79-minute mix comprised of West Coast tracks from 1981 to 2012.

From his website:

“The Timeline” is a mix of 500 songs, all performed by West Coast based artists, put together by DJ R-Tistic. The 79 minute mix starts in 1981 with Captain Rapp, and ends in 2012 with Kendrick Lamar. It highlights some of the most important movements and songs that cover this time period. You will hear early Electro, G-Funk, Mob Music, Underground, Hyphy, Jerkin, Chicano, and several other styles that were most prominent on the West Coast.

“The Timeline” contains songs from the West’s highly respected legends, along with unsung heroes from the 80’s and early 90’s, one-hit wonders, and new rappers who are currently making their mark in the Rap game.

This mix is sure to incite memories as you come across songs that haven’t been heard in years. It will also educate many on the diversity of the West Coast Rap scene, and display how it has evolved throughout the years.

The intro was produced by DJ R-Tistic, and it features Ricky Harris, who performed on several notable skits on Snoop Doggy Dogg’s “Doggystyle,” one of the best selling Rap albums of all time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: