Skip to content

Who is Sasha Fierce?

October 26, 2008

“Who the hell is Sasha Fierce?” Some may ask.

She is Beyonce’s ultra diva alter-ego.

She is releasing a double-disc album on November 18, titled I Am… Sasha Fierce. It looks as if the talented singer/actress is taking an entirely different approach to how she would like to present her music. She told Britain’s Marie Claire back in August that she was tired of being a pop star when she stated this:

I’m over being a pop star. I don’t want to be a hot girl. I want to be iconic. And I feel like I’ve accomplished a lot. I feel like I’m highly respected, which is more important than any award or any amount of records. And I feel like there comes a point when being a pop star is not enough.

It looks like Beyonce is growing and evolving as many serious music artists usually do. She is not the same girl that she was in Destiny’s Child. She finally admitted publicly that she is married to Jay-Z, and has given flesh and life full-time to an alter-ego that she mentioned in several interviews in the past as a stage presence that helped her perform and become the diva that we know as Beyonce.

Whether you think that it is a failed publicity stunt, silly, or creative- Beyonce’s alter-ego is interesting and different from what her peers are doing.

It is very David Bowie’s Ziggy Stardust-esque and with the success of Beyonce’s first two singles, “Single Ladies (Put a Ring on it)” and “If I Were A Boy,” there is no doubt that it will be as successful as Bowie’s efforts were.

Check out the album’s first two singles:

“If I Were A Boy”

“Single Ladies (Put A Ring On It)”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

